The Adventure Begins on Thursday

Cripes!

 

Only a few days to go now. The training is done – just one short jog left on the agenda – and the bags are at least half packed. I have to be honest and say my head is all over the place. I had hoped to be in a serene and confident place by this stage but it just hasn’t happened yet. I think I’m fairly well prepared in the physical sense, but I just can’t get my head to settle to the task in hand. I’ve been so busy with other projects that I’ve barely had time to notice that I’ve tapered off to little or no running. Life has been absolutely chaotic for the last week or two and I’ve just had to manage that chaos from moment to moment. Hopefully, when the plane eventually takes off, I’ll be able to devote my attention to the race and my mind will clear. I can at least hope.

In the past, I have approached races like this with my head down – as quietly as possible, hoping to slip in under the radar. Perhaps naturally, I’ve also tended to downplay any expectations of doing well. I’m lucky enough to have enjoyed the support of a few close friends over the years who have been really kind. I still draw strength from their generosity and good spirit. Since I’ve started to write this blog my ‘cover’ has been blown to a certain extent and I suppose that’s a good thing. I’ve made contact with some wonderful people through these pages and have kept in touch with many others who have been foolish to evince an interest in my tendency to run around in circles. Of course I’d like to say thanks for all the help I’ve been given thus far.

I’ll try to post some updates between now and the race. Quite what awaits us in Finland it’s impossible to tell and I suppose that’s the best reason in the world to go.

Next stop Helsinki.

8 thoughts on “The Adventure Begins on Thursday

  1. Shane

    Mick, you paced me to a sub 3 marathon in Cork, thanks for that. Could have done with a roof over our heads that day. Very best of luck at the weekend, will be tracking you online. Enjoy.

  2. Deirdre

    Hi Mick,

    Best of luck at the weekend. Will there be event tracking on the day; can we follow you? I reckon once you start travelling, it will fall into place and the mind will settle.
    Speaking of running around in circles – this is probably the ultimate example! Have a great race.
    Deirdre

  3. Hey Mick – If I could give you some of my carbs, I certainly would. Put it on auto-pilot and relish the gift that you are able to do the things you love to do. I will follow you as best as I can from across the pond – AL

Leave a Reply

