Back To The Kinky Socks

Oh So Flattering - Compression Socks

Recovery from Connemara was just going too well. After just a few gentle jogs, it’s all gone horribly ‘Pete Tong’. According to my physio, the delightful Jane-Ann, I have ” … a tenoperiosteal traction injury at the junction of the tibialis anterior and extensor digitorum longus and extensor hallicus longus.” To you and me, that’s  a very sore left shin. The problem flared-up quite unexpectedly last Saturday after a slow five miler with my club and became steadily more painful over the next couple of days. At first I feared the very worst. Having suffered two lower leg stress fractures in the last three years I was having visions of MRI machines and expensively decorated medical waiting rooms. Thankfully, all the indications are that it’s not that bad this time and that, if I behave myself, I’ll be back running in 10 days time and back training properly within two weeks.  In the depths of my depression over the weekend I would certainly have accepted any deal with fate that had me back on the road within that timeframe and so, however reluctantly, I have to be happy.

So, it’s back to wearing my kinky compression socks to work, soft heel wedges in my left shoe and the careful consumption of anti-inflammitory tablets. With a certain amount of caution, I should be able to get back into the gym work again and perhaps get some sessions on the bike or in the pool done. I havn’t broken the news at home yet that I won’t be running for 10 days. Such an announcement usually causes a certain amount of concern because of the increased risk of violent mood swings and seeming irrationality on my part. I reckon all I can do is keep my head down and do my time as gracefully as my limited patience and short supply of kinky socks will allow.

Onwards Through The Fog.

Leave a Reply

