Confidence Built on Hills..

 

Mr Rice - Mr Hill - Hills - Geddit?

Another Sunday passes and hopefully I’ve made a few more strides towards reasonable fitness.

Sunday Morning had been set aside for six laps around the ‘Rhyhill Circuit’. This beautiful, quiet 4.05 mile loop outside Monivea in East Galway takes in two decent hills and represents a decent running challenge any day of the week. To circumnavigate this loop six times was the challenge I had set myself this weekend and, thankfully, I got the job done. I have to be honest and say that I was fairly shattered at the end but I suppose that’s to be expected. Thankfully, I was still going strong towards the end. I had struggled with a bad attitude and tired legs in the early miles, but as time and miles went by I found myself getting more into my stride. A good friend had joined me for the second half of the run and his company made the run so much more enjoyable.

I enjoy the ‘afterglow’ when I’ve completed a big training run like this, particularly when I think it has gone well.  Even though you have to move around slowly, and on aching legs, it feels good to be on the other side of the fence, the side where the job is done.

With the miles and hills behind me I knew from experience that I had to start the recovery process immediately if I wasn’t going to be completely useless for the rest of the day. Even though I had forgotten to bring food with me, thanks to my more organised training partner,  I ate a banana and headed home. At home I got a protein drink and some more carbs in before hitting the sack for an hour. A few short years ago I wouldn’t have been so careful, but I’ve learnt from experience that this approach works for me. If I want to get the best from the session I’ve just done then I need to provide properly for recovery. Later that evening I was mostly recovered and was able to train at a relaxed pace on Monday.

Progress of sorts. Onwards through the fog.

Leave a Reply

